Better than it sounds

Yaya Cita, a family friend, sent over her version of seafood pumpkin soup. Yum! I liked how I wasn’t expecting to like it but was, instead, pleasantly surprised. It was the shrimp that did it for me.

Here’s the Domestic Goddess‘ version of pumpkin soup, which I shall attempt once summer vacation starts. I want to be able to cook like them food bloggers, and also take photographs like them too. Delicious Days makes the best ones. Her pictures just pop out, and you can’t stop looking! I can’t say much about the recipes, I haven’t tried one out yet. It all looks wonderfully yummy though.

(Click for the recipe.)

Roasted Pumpkin Soup

ingredients:

 
2 pounds peeled pumpkin, chopped roughly

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Slice top of garlic off and discard; place garlic on 6″ square piece of aluminum foil and drizzle about 1-2 teaspoons of the olive oil on top. Wrap up in foil and set aside.

2. Cover a baking sheet with more aluminum foil and arrange pumpkin pieces in one layer. Pour the remainder of the oil over, sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss to coat.

3. Roast pumpkin in oven along with foil-wrapped garlic for about 35 – 45 minutes or until they are starting to brown and fork tender. Garlic is done when you press the package and it is soft, or when you smell roasted garlic permeating your kitchen (yum!).

4. Leave pumpkin and garlic to cool until you can handle them. Process both in batches, along with chicken stock in a blender or food processor and transfer to large stock pot. Heat over medium heat until simmering and whisk in cream, lemon juice, spices and salt and pepper to taste.

after-thoughts:

Be sure to serve with chopped flat leaf parsley, goat’s cheese and lots of fresh bread to sop up this delicious soup.

2 thoughts on “Better than it sounds

  1. I’m not a huge pumpkin fan but I absolutely adore shrimp so I’m a bit conflicted about trying this out.

    Maybe I’ll wait once you’ve posted a picture of it… =)

  2. Haha, I think that was a one-off thing. No one at home liked it but me (which kind of gives you an idea what the soup was really like).

    I’ll try to post other pictures once I learn to cook properly. I know enough to Not Starve, but that’s basically it.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

