The (Slightly Modified) Music Meme

Got tagged by a friend. Not tagging anyone because if you don't like memes, you'll likely find this a bore. But hey, if you like them, great! I'd love to know what's on your mind, musically.

1. Music from your earliest childhood:

Bobby McFerrin's Don't Worry Be Happy. I remember hating this song, because it always meant that I had to go to school when my little brother got to stay at home. I have fonder memories of Andy Lau & Jackie Cheung, two Cantonese singers my parents loved.

2. Music you’re connecting your first great love with:

Hmm… it's hard to answer this as I've no great love (yet. haha!) I remember listening to The Corrs a lot the first time I fell in (and out) of love–they were still popular then. There was also a lot of Gin Blossoms & Oasis. TQ's Westside is one song I connect with that guy, because he sang that but his voice was so not up to it. When I hear that song, I remember him, and I cringe.

3. Music bringing back a special vacation to mind:

Cannonball Adderley's Corcovado and Ike Green's Idle Moments never fail to trigger wonderful memories of Boracay.

4. A song you’d rather not publicly admit to like, whereas in fact you really do:

Haha, the Backstreet Boys! I was a Fan. If pressed, I will admit to being fond of boy bands. The ones that can sing, anyways. Oh, and the soundtrack for High School Musical too. This feeling's like no other. I want you to knoooow….

5. Music representing your favorite instrumental:

Meditiation (Thais) and also the theme from Il Postino, before Josh Groban got his hands on it. Don't get me wrong. He has a lovely voice. It's just that now, this song has become too commercial.

I also like Rachmaninoff's 3rd piano concerto, the one that's fiendishly difficult to play, and Bach's Brandenburg Concerto (the 5th) and Italian Concerto for piano.

6. Music played by one of your favorite bands:

Lifehouse is pretty good. I love Breathing. I like Chapter One & Blind. Yellowcard's Gifts and Curses, from the Spiderman II OST is also nice.

7. Music that allows you to relax best:

I've a compilation, full of soft words and guilty pleasures, that is great.

8. Music standing for a real good time in your life:

4 Non Blondes – What's Going On, 7th grade field trip. Oasis' Wonderwall, Sophomore year and the bad math teacher we loved to make fun of. Chantal Kreviazuk's Leaving on a Jet Plane, Uni 1998. Five For Fighting's Superman, Singapore 2001. Sammi Cheng, trips to HK with my brother.

9. Songs that would currently qualify as your favorite:

Jem's Flying High, James Blunt's Tears and Rain, Fall Out Boy's Sugar We're Going Down and Craig David's Don't Love You No More

10. Music you like, not English:

Jay Chou's Lang Man Shou Zi and Jian Dan Ai always always makes me smile. He has another one, Si Man Chu Ge which sounds very much like Fort Minor's Remember the Name. (Same intro, different tempo). Gigi Leung's Jia You Xiao Xung is pretty.

Naturaleza Muerta by Mecano is also nice, except that it is inextricably linked to memories of Calculus. (I listened to it too much while studying.)

11. Music you can let off steam best to:

Any kind of loud music with lots of screaming. Discernable lyrics not required. So, Linkin Park's Crawling and Faint works for me.

12. Music reminding you of a special event (& what was it):

The strongest memory I have of my grandfather's funeral is walking to Cat Steven's Father and Son. I still can't listen to that song today.

13. Soundtracks that complete an almost perfect movie:

I want to say Spiderman 2, but the songs in the album weren't in the film. So, probably Something's Gotta Give and Love Actually. Grey's Anatomy is not a movie, but the soundtrack is excellent.

14. A song you like because of its lyrics:

Fields of Gold by Sting is the best. The Ataris' When The Lights Went Out in NYC, Patrick Park's Something Pretty, and Stacey Orricco's More to Life.

15. Take five – in no particular order:

Songs among your personal all-time favs:

  • Fields of Gold, both Sting's and Eva Cassidy's
  • Lifehouse – Breathing
  • Gin Blossoms – As Long As It Matters
  • Goo Goo Dolls – I'm Still Here
  • Green Day – Wake Me Up When September Ends

Voices giving you goose bumps (in a good way):

    Just Eva Cassidy's.

      Songs that never fail to lift your mood:

      • Taxi Ride – Everywhere You Go
      • The Veronicas – 4ever
      • Fastball – The Way
      • Fountains of Wayne – Stacy's Mom
      • Toploader – Dancing in the Moonlight

      Songs making your feet move:

      • Sugababes – Round Round
      • In the Club–Beyonce's remix
      • Nikkfurie – The a la Menthe
      • Usher – Yeah
      • I Will Survive, be it Gloria Gaynor, some remake, or karaoke. Classic.

      Most memorable music videos:

      • The Backstreet Boys – As Long As You Love Me.
      • Blind Melon – No Rain
      • Santana ft. Rob Thomas – Smooth
      • Elton John – This Train Don't Stop There Anymore
      • Linkin Park – Numb

      Albums you listened to in repeat-all mode for-(almost)-ever:

      • Finally Woken by Jem
      • Mad Season by Matchbox Twenty
      • Ana Jose Nacho by Mecano
      • David Helfgott plays Rachmaninoff
      • the soundtrack to 10 Things I Hate About You
      Leave a Reply

      