Choices, choices Part 2

I don’t want to work in

  1. OB
  2. Emergency med
  3. Oncology
  4. Physical med & rehab, or
  5. Family practice

I’m glad the Medical Specialty Aptitude Test supports this.  The plan is to take this test regularly and look for a trend, see where it goes.  Oh, and factor in how I feel about everything.  After all, we work too damn hard to do something we hate.  The results are okay.  A bit surprising, but yeah, it does make sense eventually. 

Here’s my top 10:

  1. Pathology
  2. Dermatology
  3. Cardiology
  4. Anesthesia
  5. Rheumatology
  6. Nephrology
  7. Occupational Med
  8. General Surgery
  9. Nuclear Med
  10. Neurology

Path is out, ’cause I want patient contact.  Derm could be fun, but there are too many derms here, and I don’t want to move.  Cardio is tough but cool.  Anes, hmm, maybe not.  Rheuma and Nephro are okay.  Someone warned me about stinky dialysis rooms though.  (Yes, I am that superficial.)  Gen Surg and Neurology are both Not For Me, and I’ve no idea what Occupational Medicine and Nuclear Med entails. 

Here’s the rest. 

  1. Pathology
  2. Dermatology
  3. Cardiology
  4. Anesthesiology
  5. Rheumatology
  6. Nephrology
  7. Occupational Med
  8. General Surgery
  9. Nuclear Med
  10. Neurology
  11. Infectious Disease
  12. Hematology
  13. Pulmonology
  14. Allergy & Immunology
  15. Thoracic Surgery
  16. Plastic Surgery
  17. Radiology
  18. Ophthalmology
  19. Colon & Rectal Surgery
  20. Radiation Oncology
  21. Gastroenterology
  22. Endocrinology
  23. Neurosurgery
  24. Otolaryngology
  25. Orthopaedic Surgery
  26. Preventive Med
  27. Urology
  28. General Internal Med
  29. Psychiatry
  30. Pediatrics
  31. Obstetrics/Gynecology
  32. Emergency Med
  33. Med Oncology
  34. Physical Med & Rehabilitation
  35. Aerospace Med
  36. Family Practice
5 thoughts on “Choices, choices Part 2

  1. Be careful with these tests, because you really won’t know what you like until you get a chance to experience them clinically. FYI, general internal med was #9 for me. Rheum, peds, PM&R, and occupational were all ahead of it, and I happen to hate all of those.

  2. Oh, okay. 🙂
    The thing is, I don’t want to rush into a decision as huge as this one. I’ve no clue what to be (except Seriously Not OB) so the plan is to take everything into consideration and maybe do POE (Process of Elimination.) When did you figure out you wanted to do IM?

  3. When I started med school, I thought I wanted to do IM. Then, I ended up hating it. Then I took a bunch of IM electives, and I discovered that I really did love it. So that was early into my 4th year. Up until then, I was going to do child psych.

  4. When I started med school, I wanted to be a neurologist. I took one of those tests and it said to do general surgery or ortho. I thought it must be totally wrong. Um.. I’m a general surgery intern. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

