12.30.06

Saddam is dead.  I know I’m supposed to be glad that he’s gone but I feel nothing.

On the other hand, my friend’s mom and brothers died in a fire the other night.  Or at least, that’s what they think.  No one’s sure because there were no bodies when the fire died.

This time, I don’t know what to feel. I’m a little shocked and sad because the entire situation is tragic.  Also morbid and gruesome.  But at the same time, I don’t want to think about it too much because I know I won’t be able to sleep.  Even now, I shudder when I remember, and the funny thing is, I don’t even know them personally.

I don’t know why random deaths from people I barely know matter more to me than Saddam’s, only that it does.  I also hope that these things won’t ever happen to people I know.  So if you’re reading this blog, please do me a favor and remember to pull the plug from all electrical appliances tonight.  Just in case.  🙂

One thought on “12.30.06

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your friends family. It must be very hard especially to not have the closure of recovering the bodies. My middle child was one of the 101st to shoot tow missles into the house where Oday and Qussey Hussein were holding out in 2003. I felt very sad when he e-mailed me that it had happened. (I got the e-mail before the news broke on CNN) I knew that there was a part of his humanity that would suffer for the act, and later he told me as much. Hearing the news that Saddam is no longer in the world didn’t fill me with joy. Just the saddness that while this evil was removed, part of the humanity of those who took him out will die in the process. The world is not necessarily a better place.

Leave a Reply

