Two posts alike but different.

Every night I am on call, my feet beg for mercy. My calluses have begun to have calluses of their own, and I fear I am going bald.

And then, the residents ask:

“Have you ever thought of going into medicine?”

At first I was confused. I was already into medicine (the field), until I realized that she meant medicine the specialty. I smile and nod.

They smile back. One persists, “Have you ever thought of taking up medicine here?”

My smile grows bigger. I nod again.

“That’s good.”

Thank you, God.

*

Tinanong ako kanina, “Naisip mo bang pumasok sa medicine.”

At first I was confused. I was already into medicine (the field), until I realized that she meant medicine the specialty.

I smile and nod.

They smile back. “Naisip mo bang mag medicine dito or gusto mo sa iba?”

My smile grows bigger. “Pwede rin.”

We grin at each other.

Salamat.

Leave a Reply

