In a Country Mood

I can’t believe I wrote that. I’ve been ruminating, wasting my time with thoughts of JWB instead of reading up for the ACLS workshop a few days from now.

Listening to country music (the sad bits) seemed to fit the mood. But I don’t know what to call this mood. Sad is too blunt, and melancholic is way too much drama. So I ask Dr. Google, and this is the first thing that pops up:

The themes found in country music foster a suicidal mood among people already at risk of suicide and that it is thereby associated with a high suicide rate.*

Oh.

*Stack, S. Gundlach, J. The Effect of Country Music on Suicide. Social Forces, September 1992 71(1):211-218

Leave a Reply

