01.29.10

Once upon a time
I was you
Keeping secret
Being True

What happened child
Of golden hair
What happened then
I wasn’t there

Running wild
Laughing free
Bursting sun
You reached for me

But another won your heart
That day
A smiling lie
Danced your way

You followed him
Into a wood
No one saw
The wolf in hood

And now you stand
And stare at me
Your frock is stained
Your knees are green

How do I hold your hand and stay
How do I heal
That death
In May

This day
This night
This hour
Long due

This ink
This page
This prayer
For you . . .

“Little Red Riding Hood”
by Christina Reihill
From Diving for a White Rose

4 thoughts on “01.29.10

  1. Jillian says:

    I have read every book Marian Keyes has written, and they have all been amazing. Try to read them in order, because the ones about the Walsh sisters make more sense in order.

Leave a Reply

