1 May 2020

Burned through two of Mhairi McFarlane’s books in two days.  The first, her latest, is If I Never Met You.  Absolutely my kind of fiction.  Nice turn of phrase, clever erudite chick lit.  Total catnip hence quickly looked for another book after reading til 2 am and waking up the next day to finish it as quickly as I can.

book book pages college education
Photo by Victor on Pexels.com

Don’t You Forget About Me punched me in the face.  Started meh.  Five chapters in, I started to enjoy the heroine a little more.  I very consciously decided to give the book a chance because it felt a little Marian Keyes to me.  And true enough, like many MK books, the plot punched me in the face and I read the last 1/3 of the book teary-eyed and light-headed.

Need to take a bit of a break from women’s fiction.  Maybe I should sort through my ebooks and brush up on a bit of nonfiction for work.

 

Leave a comment